Best Insurance For Cheap Renters In Michigan – Forbes Advisor


Editorial Note: We earn a commission on partner links on Forbes Advisor. Commissions do not affect the opinions or ratings of our editors.

If you’re looking for inexpensive Michigan tenant insurance, consider requesting quotes from Frankenmuth, Cincinnati, and Chubb. Veterans and military personnel and their immediate families should check the USAA renters insurance quotes.

In our analysis, these companies offered the cheapest tenant insurance in Michigan among the companies we analyzed. But there are other companies offering tenant insurance for less than $ 200 a year for $ 20,000 in property coverage, so it’s good to collect multiple quotes.

Following: Better tenant insurance

What does tenant insurance cover?

Renters insurance can help pay for stolen goods, personal injury lawsuits, and even accommodation, in certain circumstances. Here are the three main types of tenant insurance coverage that work together to protect you and your property. If you are eligible for a claim, your insurance company will pay up to the limits specified in your policy.

  • Personal property covers your personal items such as electronics, furniture, rugs and jewelry if they are damaged by an event listed in your policy or if they are stolen.
  • Liability insurance covers personal injury and property damage that you accidentally cause to others. For example, if a guest is injured while visiting your apartment, your liability insurance covers legal costs if you are sued. Or, let’s say a stray snowball you threw broke the glass on the neighbor’s window, your liability may also help pay to fix it. It is a good idea to have sufficient liability insurance to cover what may be taken away from you in a lawsuit.
  • Additional Living Expenses (ALE) would cover restaurant meals and hotel stays if your apartment rental property is damaged by an issue covered by your policy and you cannot live there while it is being repaired. For example, if your house suffered water damage from a burst pipe and you were to temporarily live elsewhere, your coverage would help pay for living expenses.

Your home insurance comes with liability coverage, but if that’s not enough, you may want to consider an umbrella insurance policy. This extra protection can help pay for expenses that exceed your limits of liability, for example, if you are sued by a guest who was injured while visiting your apartment.

Related: Better tenant insurance

When can you be deported to Michigan?

Under Michigan law, there are nine possible reasons for evicting a tenant:

  1. Non-payment of rent
  2. Significant and ongoing physical damage to rental housing
  3. A serious and persistent danger to health
  4. Illegal drug activity with filed police report
  5. Breach of a clause of the lease
  6. Forced or peaceful entry, but forced stay or intrusion
  7. Stay in the apartment when the lease expires
  8. Just cause (as defined by MCL 600.5775) to terminate a rental agreement when you live in a mobile home park
  9. Just cause (as defined by law MCL 125.694a and MCL 600.5714) to terminate a lease when you live in government subsidized housing

An eviction notice from a landlord should state that the landlord plans to evict you within seven or 30 days (depending on the reason for the eviction). The eviction notice can give you time to correct a problem such as payment of rent due.

Seven days’ notice of eviction is required for:

  • Non-payment of rent
  • Significant and ongoing physical damage to rental housing
  • A serious and persistent danger to health
  • Illegal drug activity with filed police report

A 30-day eviction notice is required for:

  • Breach of a clause of the lease
  • Forced or peaceful entry, but forced stay or intrusion
  • Stay in the apartment when the lease expires

An eviction notice must be delivered to you in person, to a member of your household in the rental unit, or by first class mail. If the notice is delivered by hand, the time limit begins the next day. If the notice is posted, the deadline starts from the day after delivery (excluding Sundays and public holidays).

After the seven or 30 day period has passed, your landlord can take eviction legal action against you. This complaint explains why your landlord wants to repossess your rental unit. A summons to appear will be sent to you at the tribunal de grande instance. The time to appear and respond to the subpoena is generally three to ten days.

If your landlord wins the case, the court cannot issue an eviction order for at least 10 days. During this time, you can try to work things out with your landlord, such as paying the rent. After those 10 days have passed, your landlord can ask a judge to make an eviction order.

By order of the judge, a judicial officer can remove you and your property from the rental unit. This officer is usually the sheriff or someone who works in the sheriff’s office.

Michigan Security Deposit Rules

In Michigan, the security deposit cannot exceed 1.5 times the monthly rent. For example, if your monthly rent is $ 1,000, your security deposit cannot exceed $ 1,500 ($ 1,000 x 1.5 = $ 1,500).

A landlord must deposit your security deposit with a financial institution like a bank or post a cash bond or bond with the security deposit.

At the end of your lease, you must provide your landlord with your forwarding address within four days of your move. If you do, your landlord has 30 days to respond. Your landlord can return the full security deposit by check or money order, or send a detailed list of damage to the apartment with a check or money order for the remaining amount of the security deposit less damage.

If you dispute the detailed list of damages, you must respond in writing and in detail by mail within seven days of receiving the list. Your landlord may negotiate a deal with you in writing, or your landlord may want to take the matter to court. A landlord must file a complaint within 45 days of leaving the apartment at the end of the lease. If the landlord does not file a lawsuit, the landlord may owe you, the tenant, double the amount of the security deposit.

Michigan Rent Increase Rules

Generally, your landlord cannot increase your rent during the term of your lease without your written consent. Your lease may provide for rent increases over the term to cover additional costs such as increases in property taxes, utilities, and insurance premiums.

If you have a periodic or at will rental, for example if you are renting by the month, a landlord can increase your rent with proper notice.

When can a landlord enter your apartment?

Although Michigican does not have a specific law regarding when a landlord can enter an apartment, you have the right to privacy in your Michigan rental. Typically, your landlord must give you advance notice to enter your apartment. An owner can access your apartment for:

  • Make repairs
  • Show the apartment to future tenants
  • City permit inspections

In an emergency, a landlord can enter an apartment without notice.

Find the best tenant insurance of 2021


Comments are closed.