Driving without insurance in Alaska
Alaska has many unstable regions where roads are not easily accessible and often not maintained by the state. Some of these areas are not subject to Alaska auto insurance laws that apply to other parts of the state and almost all of the other 49 states. When insurance is required, the penalties and other consequences of driving without insurance can be costly.
Despite the patchy areas of mandatory insurance requirements, it is always recommended that you consider coverage wherever you drive in Alaska for the financial protection it offers. If you are involved in an accident without insurance, the financial consequences can be serious.
Minimum insurance required in Alaska
Alaska Compulsory Insurance Act requires that drivers of motor vehicles in areas where cars must be registered must purchase specific limits of motor liability insurance. In addition, Alaska Financial Responsibility Act provides that these drivers must carry proof of insurance when on the road.
Automobile liability insurance covers the financial costs that may arise if you are liable for bodily injury to another driver and their passengers and for property damage that you cause to another driver’s vehicle in a car accident.
Alaska’s minimum automobile liability insurance limits are:
- $ 50,000 civil liability for bodily injury per person
- $ 100,000 liability for bodily injury per accident
- $ 25,000 liability for property damage per accident
Some areas of Alaska do not require vehicle registration. In these areas, insurance is also not required.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Alaska
Failure to provide proof of insurance
Failure to provide proof of liability insurance to an Alaskan law enforcement officer may result in a citation. Penalties vary and the violation may also result in the impoundment of your vehicle.
If you are caught driving without the insurance required under Alaska’s Mandatory Requirements, you may be subject to a fine of $ 500. For a first offense, your driver’s license can be suspended for up to 90 days.
If a driver receives a second ticket for driving without insurance within 10 years of the first, the license suspension can be up to one year. The penalties will likely be at least $ 500 as well. Penalties and suspensions may become more severe with subsequent violations.
Healing a violation with an SR-22
An SR-22 is not an insurance policy. In Alaska, as in other states, an SR-22 is a state-sanctioned certificate verifying financial accountability. If your license has been suspended for failing to purchase the required insurance, you will need to obtain and hold an SR-22 for up to three years. This can usually remove the suspension.
Have an accident without insurance
If you are involved in an auto accident in Alaska in which someone sustains bodily injury or death, or if there is property damage over $ 500, you must provide proof of insurance. Within 15 days of the accident, the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles must receive this proof from every driver involved in the accident, regardless of who was at fault. Often, the on-scene agent will provide drivers with the appropriate form to complete and submit. It can also be obtained at any DMV office.
The DMV has no discretionary option and must suspend the license of a driver who is unable to provide proof of insurance in these circumstances. The suspension period can range from 90 days to one year. It is important to note that this suspension is based only on driving without insurance and therefore, the fault in the accident does not affect the suspension. There are provisions for requesting limited driving rights, such as for job requirements.
Perhaps the greatest cost that can come from uninsurance and an accident is that of an injured driver choosing to take legal action. Alaska is a “responsible” state, and you can be personally liable for any bodily injury and property damage you cause. Depending on the severity of the injury and its long-term ramifications, this damage can lead to significant financial loss and potential bankruptcy.
Alaska’s Online Insurance Verification System
In 2018, Alaska introduced a limited online auto insurance verification system. The purpose of the system is to provide information regarding a driver’s compliance with state law, AS 28.22.031 – Method of proof of automobile liability insurance, which requires, among other things, proof of insurance within 15 days of an accident.
Frequently Asked Questions
What if you provide false insurance information?
Driving without insurance is inherently expensive. Making the problem worse by providing false information to a lawyer or your insurance company can make the situation worse. Lying to an officer in Alaska can also result in hefty fines and suspensions. You may also find that your auto insurance company has denied a claim or canceled your policy if they learn that you provided false information in your claim.
How Much Does Auto Insurance Cost in Alaska?
Auto insurance in Alaska is relatively inexpensive compared to other states, averaging $ 1,559 per year for full coverage, according to the Bankrate 2021 study of annual premiums offered by Quadrant Information Services. The amount each driver will pay will vary due to the wide range of individual factors that are involved including driving history, age, and location. The recommended course is to get and compare quotes from the best auto insurance companies.
What is a âat faultâ state?
In a âresponsibleâ state, each individual and their insurers are financially responsible for the injuries they cause in an accident. Compare this with a “no-fault” state where insurers are required to pay for injuries to their own policyholders and may be required to seek reimbursement or subrogation, later, from the offending party or their insurance company. automobile.
Should I notify my auto insurance company of minor accidents?
It is generally recommended that you notify your insurance company whenever you are involved in an accident, no matter how minor you think it is. If you fail to do so and the other party, months or even years later, claims serious injury as a result of the accident, your carrier may deny the claim for failure to promptly notify.