Senior strategist in Boise, ID — Money Diary

Occupation: Senior Strategist
Industry: Advertising
Age: 30
Location: Boise, I.D.
Salary: $126,000 + average 15% bonus (paid quarterly and ranges from 5-20% based on revenue goals)
My husband’s salary: $140,000 (we keep our money completely separate)
Net value : ~$440,000 (Brokerage: ~$260,000, 401(k): ~$100,000, Traditional IRA: ~$20,500, Roth IRA: ~$13,500, HSA: ~$4,500, Cash: $40,000 My net worth has been on a rollercoaster since the end of 2021, I’m still on the decline despite constant saving and investing Although it’s been stressful to see the fluctuations, it’s allowed me to be less obsessed with my investments (instead of checking several times a day, I only check once or twice a week) My husband, K., has a net worth of around $250,000, and I had a higher salary than him until very recently We keep our finances separate and split everything 50/50 except for personal purchases (e.g. clothes) We keep a running spreadsheet and settle all two weeks. We can eventually combine, but it’s working for now. We currently have no car or student loan debt.)
Debt: $0
Paycheck amount (2x/month): $3,065
Pronouns: She she

Monthly expenses
Lease: $930 for my half of a one bedroom apartment
The Internet: $0 (this is covered by K’s company.)
Spotify: My sister pays in exchange for Amazon Prime
HBO Max: My other sister pays in exchange for Amazon Prime
Netflix: We use the identifier of K’s parents.
Cellphone: $0 (work covers my phone)
Electricity: $35-$40 for my other half
Utilities: $20 for my other half
Health/Dental/Vision Insurance: $220 (Pre-tax on my paycheck; that’s technically all for my husband since my company pays 100% of my insurance costs. I just pay him and K. will pay for the extra nights out, etc.) 401(k): $1,200 (pre-tax from my paycheck)
ASF: $166 (pre-tax from my paycheck)
Savings/Investments: ~$3,000 to $4,000

Comments are closed.